Making The Most of It

Just another WordPress.com weblog

A Horrible Disappointment October 18, 2009

Filed under: Price Chopper,Rite Aid — Kimberly @ 5:36 PM

Oct 2009 009This purchase from Rite Aid should have been free after SCR. Would have been free if it weren’t for the fact that I lost my receipt somewhere between Rite Aid and home. The candy corn wasn’t even part of the SCRs but my cashier scanned something at the register and said “Let’s see if we can save you any money today!” and it took off $2 from my purchase which is what the candy corn cost.  Instead of completely free it cost me $16 some-odd for this purchase. I’m bummed.

On a happier note with my groceries today I got free Dannon Activia, free Pert Plus shampoo, $1.00 Glade Scented Oil candle refills, $1.00 Stayfree, and $0.66 Dannon Light & Fit six packs at Price Chopper after coupons. There were a few other deals but those are the highlights. Total grocery savings were $50.55 which is okay. We stayed under $100 which is my goal for each week. Thanks to the Glade purchase I have qualified for the SC Johnson $5 Rebate which I will be mailing in tomorrow. To qualify all you have to do is buy 3 products from the list which includes Glade, Ziploc, Pledge, Scrubbing Bubbles, and several others. I don’t have the link to the rebate anymore but do a search for “SC Johnson $5 Rebate” with your favorite search engine and it should show up.

UPDATE: I had an ah-ha moment after several hours of mourning my Rite Aid receipt. The two Rite Aid transactions before mine belonged to my two sons. They both bought a candy bar for a treat and we all paid separately. So using their receipts, which I still had, I was able to figure out what should have been on my receipt and submit the info even though I do not physically have my receipt anymore. I just hope that no-one else found it and entered my info first to their account! I will find out if it worked in a couple of days when they finish processing the receipt. Wish me luck!

UPDATE 2: It worked! My receipt went through. YAY!!! Now I will be getting a SCR for the purchase price of all of the items pictured above except for the candy corn.

 

3 Responses to “A Horrible Disappointment”

  1. Jill Says:

    Found your link from Money Saving Mom’s website. Just to let you know – if this happens again (and it very well may), be sure to call your Rite-Aid store that you made your purchase at. Usually they are able to look up the purchase in their system if you can supply some information (time of day, merchandise you purchased, register number, etc.). I had this happen to me just a couple weeks ago and I called and she was able to retrieve the information for me. She just read me the necessary information over the phone, I input it on the SCR website & voila! Credited. =)

  2. kimberlyna Says:

    Thank you for sharing that info with me! I wasn’t sure if they could do that or not. I will try that in the future if I end up with another missing receipt. Thanks for visiting our blog!

  3. […] @ 6:31 PM I just read the fine print and realized that the SC Johnson $5.00 rebate I mentioned here has a limit of three rebates per household instead of the usual one rebate per household. This […]


Leave a Reply

