Making The Most of It

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Spending the Gift of Savings November 3, 2009

Filed under: Rite Aid — Kimberly @ 3:17 PM

If you read all of my prior posts about Rite Aid you are familiar with the GOS program they were running earlier this fall and that I had it all planned out as to where my money was going to go once I received it. I was going to use my $20 GOS towards little stocking stuffers for my children. Or maybe towards future SCR deals to make even more money. Well, things don’t always work out the way that we plan!  Today I had to pick up some Dimetapp so I hemmed and hawed about buying the name brand vs. the store brand to save money. I finally decided after several minutes to go with the old faithful name brand and “poof” there goes some of my GOS I received at the end of last week. While I was there I saw that they had some Bakugan stocked again. Now this would make a good stocking stuffer for the boys only we already “owe” my youngest a Bakugan from a couple of weeks ago (long story) so he’ll be getting it after school today, not in his stocking.  And since my oldest is feeling under-the-weather I decided it would only be nice to buy one for him as well and give it to him today. There goes more than half of my GOS! Suddenly I’m down to only a couple of dollars left and no stocking stuffers or SCR items in my basket! While I was there I wandered down the Christmas aisle and I saw some small flashlights that come with batteries. I’d been looking for some online just this morning, so in go two flashlights into my basket. The flashlights may be stocking stuffers for my boys, or they may go into the Samaritan’s Purse Christmas Child shoeboxes I am filling. I haven’t decided yet. I’d been looking for small flashlights for both things. It sure did take a lot longer to earn this GOS than it did to spend it!

So the rundown:

Bakugan Booster Pack (x2)  $5.99 ea

Flashlight w/batteries (x 2) $1.50 ea

Dimetapp Elixer $6.99

Herbal Essences shampoo $4.59

– $4.59 coupon  ( from Herbal Essences’ Facebook page giveaway)

– $20.00 GOS

total OOP = $1.97  (I’m not sure what happened here, my total OOP should have come to $3.15 because before they took off the $20.00 GOS it was $23.15 but I’m not going to complain).

It took three Rite Aid employees to figure out how to enter my GOS. In case your Rite Aid employees don’t know how to do it, tell them it is entered like a coupon!  I hope I remember that next time they run their GOS program in case there is a problem again. I’m sure my cheeks were turning pink as the cashier kept calling for help and the girl behind me in line was straining under the weight of the case of soda in her arms!  I must have apologized ten times to the cashier, manager, and the girl behind me. I’d kind of like to avoid that next time!

Oct 2009

P.S. There aren’t many good deals at Rite Aid this week if you are looking for dirt cheap or free after SCR items so I decided to skip my usual method of Rite Aid deal shopping this week. I don’t really need any of this week’s offers. There is a FREE after rebate and coupons deal on Oral-B Cross Action toothbrushes if you are in need of a new toothbrush.  There is a good deal on Febreze Air Effect spray ($0.49 after coupon and rebate). You may also be able to score some okay deals on Biore and L’Oreal products this week after coupons and rebates. Check out your weekly RA ad to find the best deals for you!

p.p.s. Did you know that Rite Aid SCRs can be cashed or deposited at your bank? I didn’t. I’d been under the impression for months that when you receive your SCRs they HAD to be used towards a future Rite Aid purchase. I know you can cash manufacturer rebates you receive in the mail but I thought that this was the “catch” for Rite Aid’s rebates. I’m very excited that I am wrong and I can use the rebate checks and turn them into cold, hard, cash! Sometimes you just need to shop at places other than Rite Aid and the money I get back from them will help with that.

 

One Response to “Spending the Gift of Savings”

  1. Wow, I wish we had Rite-Aid! We have CVS and Walgreens, of course, but CVS is always out of anything that’s on sale, even if it’s not a great deal. And this morning at CVS the employees had no idea what I was talking about when I asked about the 99 cent tag you can buy to then get credits every time you bring your own re-usable bag. Sigh…..


Leave a Reply

