Making The Most of It

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Give Me A Break (and not a price break) November 8, 2009

Filed under: Price Chopper,Rite Aid — Kimberly @ 5:55 PM

I’m burnt out on deals. Yes, you heard me correctly. I’m tired of clipping coupons, scouring the sale ads and the internet. I need a break. I was going to take a break this week. I knew it was important to take a break after dreaming last night that I was pulling free things left and right out of my mailbox and piling it on my table and calling the neighbors over to look. Sometimes you can have too much of a good thing! I wasn’t going to touch Rite Aid with a 10 foot pole this week. I was going to simply get through making the grocery list for Price Chopper (which seemed time-consuming and agonizing enough) and then do nothing. Well, as it turns out I gave in. I didn’t want to give in, but I had to go to Rite Aid to pick up a prescription anyway. I debated whether I should just run in, get the prescription and get out, or whether I should do a quick look through the ad and grab up the best deals I could quickly pick out. In the end the deals won out and I’m even contemplating going back later this week to pick up a couple of 50% off holiday items I liked and do the Herbal Essences deal (combine the BOGO free sale this week with the BOGO free coupon from a past coupon insert in the Sunday paper for two free HE items).

Here’s what I did do:

Oral-B Cross Action toothbrush reg. 5.49   $2.99

Chapstick True Shimmer reg. 2.99   $1.99

Rite Aid Butter Cookies 2 pack x2  $3.49 ea

-$1.00 MFQ

-$3.49 (BOGO free cookies)

= $7.65 after tax

There is $2.99 SCR for the toothbrush and a $1.00 SCR for the Chapstick.

Total for this purchase after rebates = $3.66 (which is just slightly more than one of the two packs of butter cookies) I could have made this total even lower if I had remembered to use the “20% off today only” coupon printed out on my prescription information since I purchased my prescription first and in a seperate transaction but I NEVER remember to use those. I also have a printable 20% off coupon in my email from Rite Aid that they emailed me with my quarterly SCR report that I could have printed and used but decided to save it for a pricier purchase.

2009 11 08_0109

These are some of the deals we took advantage of at Price Chopper this week (I say “we” because I made out the list and my husband and one of the children did the shopping).  BOGO free Dole salad =$3.49 for 2 bags, pork chops 1.99/lb (I hate pork chops but other people in the house like them so…), Earthbound Organic baby carrots 2.99 (x2) -1.00/2 Q (doubled) = $3.98 for two bags, Fresh Sweet Northwest Green Anjou Pears 1.29/lb, Crisco vegetable oil 48 oz 3.99-1.00 Q in today’s paper (doubled) = $1.99, Kotex 2/4.00-1.00 Q x2 (doubled) = both free,   One gallon of Price Chopper milk $2.00 (after using the coupon in Price Chopper circular and our Advantage Card) Scrubbing Bubbles bathroom cleaner 2.99-1.00 Q in today’s paper (doubled) =$0.99 (this also gives me the last item I need for my third and final $5.00 SC Johnson rebate).  We also purchased seveal Price Chopper brand products that were low prices this week and some on sale baking ingredients and mixes (although not enough to qualify for the $5 off your next shopping trip if you purchase $20 in qualifying Smuckers brand products deal that they’re currently running) and some other sale and non-sale items that were running low on. All in all we stayed below my husband’s budget. I say his because my weekly goal is $50 less than his goal.  Sorry, no photos to show for this. For some reason I don’t think to photograph the groceries. I’m always in such a hurry to put them away because it seems like grocery shopping always gets done right at meal time and everyone is hungry. Priorities you know! 🙂

Good luck with your deal hunting this week! Unless I make that aforementioned second run to Rite Aid or find a spectacular online deal for Christmas gifts this will probably be it for me for the week!

 

One Response to “Give Me A Break (and not a price break)”

  1. kimberlyna Says:

    I got my update on my SCR today and the Oral-B toothbrush I purchased did not work towards the SCR. Apparently it is for a 40 bristle count only, I got a 60 because that was all that I saw in my store and the SCR sign was in front of them. Other than the bristle count everything else matches the requirements. If I get a chance this week I will return it and try to purchase the correct one. I don’t really need a toothbrush badly enough to spend $2.99 on it. Seems as if this isn’t my month at Rite Aid. I also purchased HE shampoo (well it was free after coupon) last week thinking it would qualify for SCR and be a money maker only to find out that the SCR is only valid for three days during their Black Friday sale, not for the entire month. I guess I’d better start paying better attention!


Leave a Reply

