Making The Most of It

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Why I Shop October 24, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Kimberly @ 3:32 PM

Have you ever heard of the Great American Apparel Diet? It’s a group of people (mostly women) who decided not to purchase clothes for a whole year. The first round  of the diet apparently ended in Sept. 2010, but there are still people at it for a second round. I started reading the website yesterday and it’s left me with some food for thought. I don’t think I’m going to join the Great American Apparel Diet because I don’t buy a ton of clothing anyway, but it has made me think about my own consumerism and where I could stand to go on a shopping diet (bags, bath and body products, books, random sale items that are “too good to pass up”). Most importantly it has me thinking about WHY I buy what I do. As you know, if you read this blog, for several months now I’ve wanted to buy less and make shopping a less important part of my life. I don’t really think that I ever stopped and asked myself WHY I shop though, and I think that maybe that’s why I haven’t been entirely successful in cutting back. I fell asleep thinking about it last night and I think I’ve come to the conclusion that I shop because I long for newness in my life and entertainment. My life is predictable and comfortable, boring at times, so I shop. Sure the thrill of the hunt is fun and challenging, and for the few moments the items are new I feel good, and I feel proud of scoring a great deal, but then I am quickly on to needing my next “fix” because the newness  and pride wears off quickly. I don’t need new stuff. I need new experiences. I may, or may not, go on a shopping diet of my own similar to The Great American Apparel Diet, I haven’t decided. Either way I know that I will give a little more thought before I shop in the future and ask myself what my motives are. Do I NEED OR LOVE this item or am I just bored? Do I NEED OR LOVE this item or did I just want a challenge (the hunt)? Do I NEED OR LOVE this item or am I just looking for something different in my life?? If you’re looking for inspiration to stop shopping excessively, or are just curious about how people could possibly go for a whole year without purchasing and article of clothing, I encourage you to hop on over to The Great American Apparel site and start reading. You may just learn something about yourself!

 

Leave a Reply

